I Can’t Stop Talking About How Much I Love Music

230866_317397015034556_1331871188_n

I know I’ve written a lot about music lately, but I just can’t help it. Every single time I’m at a live show, I simultaneously feel completely at peace and in such pure, blissful happiness. It sounds kind of crazy, but I am not sure I am more passionate about anything than music. I sometimes wonder why I didn’t major in something that could’ve had me involved in the music world.

I grew up singing, and I love singing. I was in choir my entire life, but was never into performing much. I’m not sure why, I always felt that I was talented. I think I was just missing the confidence. Like a lot of little girls, I had the dream that I wanted to be a famous singer. I’ve kind of given up on that dream now, but the hope and connection I feel being in the presence of performers and hearing live music just really makes me want to be involved in the music business somehow. Like, I don’t even care how. I just need it to be a huge part of my life. Like, if I was more bawlzy, I would totally just move to LA and try to manage a band, or intern at a record company, or just do something to get my foot in the door.

I saw Father John Misty at First Avenue on Friday night, and he was beyond wonderful. Like, such an amazingly talented songwriter and performer. He played solo, so it was literally just him and his guitar. It was so, so beautiful. The power of his songs, and his voice – you could just feel how much love he has for performing and writing and music in general. I just absolutely loved it. I loved being able to feel that in the audience. That’s what I love about shows in venues like First Ave in Minneapolis – I love feeling a connection with the performer. Don’t get me wrong, arena shows can be great too, but you can only really connect to the music in those kinds of places. You know? In smaller venues, you feel a connection to the performer and the music. You feel part of the whole process. You feel meaningful and like you are part of what makes the music so special; it feels intimate and powerful.

Also, his new material is UNBELIEVABLE. I can’t wait for a new album.

photo 2 photo 1 fjm is silly

I just can’t keep thinking lately that I just need to find a way to be around live music all the time. Literally all the time. On Tuesday night, I get to see my favorite band, Deer Tick, for the third time and I am just SO, so unbelievably excited.

Sorry for so much music talk lately. Fall has finally hit Minnesota (Thank GOD) and besides going out to concerts, my life mainly consists of homework and Saturday nights at the Dinkytown bars. The weather has been kind of gloomy, but I like it that way.

All my love,

Paige

P.S. Does anyone else just LOVE Creedence Clearwater Revival? God. I just love them so much I can’t stop listening to them lately. Thanks, Dad, for making me listen to them in long car rides as a child. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

